Entrance Scholarships & Awards

Did You Know?

  • Luther students, even though from diverse social and cultural backgrounds, have the opportunity to be part of tightly woven community of students, parents, alumni, teachers and staff. Typically 12% of the school’s student body originates from outside of Canada.

  • Through the A Time To Build capital campaign, we have added 46,897 square feet of space to Luther College High School, including the Semple gymnasium -  the largest high school gym in Regina.

  • In the late 1920's, during an in-house baseball tournament, Rex Schneider entered a team called "Prof Schneider's Battling Lions." This is the first hint that someday Luther teams would be known as the Lions.  

  • The first annual Senior Girls Volleyball Tournament was held in 1998 and is still going strong today!

  • The choral tradition at Luther began in 1914. In addition to in-school performances, the choir has shared its ministry of music with many congregations across Canada and has performed regularly on local and national radio and television shows, at contests and festivals.

  • Luther College High School is recognized as one of the four best university preparatory schools in western Canada with as many as 96% of Luther graduates pursuing post-secondary educations. 

  • The International Baccalaureate provides an enriched curriculum that both covers and extends beyond regular Saskatchewan curricula in its depth and detail. It emphasizes the development of the necessary critical skills that university-bound students need to master: reflecting, inquiring, thinking, analyzing and evaluating.

  • The Tuck Shop for snacks was at the bottom of the south stairs going to what is now the cafeteria. The legendary beans in a cone were considered a healthier & cheaper alternative to what students purchased across the street at the Aintree.

Entrance Scholarships & Awards

The following forms are for students entering Luther College High School for the first time, and are available prior to March 1.

Luther College Entrance Award Application

$500 Grade 9 Entrance Scholarship

Allan Christiansen Memorial Scholarship

The Allan Christiansen Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a new Grade 9 student who has a keen interest in learning and shows a caring attitude towards others. The scholarship was established in memory of Pastor C. by his family and friends, and by alumni of the College. Pastor C. served the College for thirty-eight years in such roles as Dean, Teacher, Guidance Counsellor, Chapel Coordinator, Vice-Principal, and Principal.

Denise (Stratychuk) Mearns & Jim Mearns Memorial Scholarship

The Denise (Stratychuk) Mearns & Jim Mearns Memorial Scholarship is awarded each year to a deserving new student attending Luther College. Denise graduated from Luther in 1982.

Dilawri Award for Students of Promise

The Dilawri Award for Students of Promise is established by the Dilawri family and Luther alumnus Ajay Dilawri (HS’86) for students of academic promise who, due to financial constraints, would not otherwise be able to afford to attend Luther College High School.

Dr. Leonard O. Bradley Scholarship

The Dr. Leonard O. Bradley Scholarship is awarded to a deserving new student from rural Saskatchewan. The scholarship is provided by Dr. Bradley (HS'31), who graduated from Luther in 1931. Dr. Bradley was born and raised in Neudorf, Saskatchewan by parents who valued education and worked hard to put their children through school.

Dusterbeck Entrance Bursary

The Dusterbeck Entrance Bursary is granted to a deserving new student. Latham Dusterbeck (HS'40) graduated from Luther in 1940. His sister, Germaine (HS'43), graduated from Luther in 1943.

Erna Huget Memorial Scholarship

The Erna Huget Memorial Scholarship is awarded to assist entering students, with preference given to students with abilities in music. The scholarship was established by Miss Huget, who joined Luther’s staff as secretary in 1943 and served in that role for the next forty years.

Fredrick & Magdalena Krell Scholarship

The Fredrick & Magdalena Krell Scholarship is awarded to an entering student who demonstrates qualities of compassion, sensitivity, desire for learning, reverence for life, and faith in God. This scholarship was created by the children of Fredrick and Magdalena in tribute to their parents’ contribution to education. All six of the Krell children attended Luther College High School and lived in the dormitory. In 1950-51, there were five siblings in the dorm at one time.

Harold & Joyce Dietrich Entrance Scholarship

The Harold & Joyce Dietrich Entrance Scholarship is awarded to a deserving new student. Dr. Dietrich (HS'48, HSU'49) was a graduate of Luther College High School who served as Chair of the Board of Regents from 1958 - 1984.

J. Clifford MacKinnon Memorial Scholarship

The J. Clifford MacKinnon Memorial Scholarship is given to a deserving new student entering Luther College.

Joan Sexton-Kusisto First Nations Scholarship

The Joan Sexton-Kusisto First Nations Scholarship is awarded annually to a First Nations student entering Grade 9 at Luther College High School. Joan Sexton graduated from Luther College in 1977. First Nations students who demonstrate academic achievement and a keen interest in learning will be considered, with a preference given to students with a positive attitude, proven leadership abilities and a strong desire to succeed.

Kramer Family Scholarship

The Kramer Family Scholarship (established by alumni David Kramer HS’01, James Kramer HS’05 and their father Tim Kramer) is for Aboriginal students who show academic promise but due to financial constraints and other socio-economic factors would not otherwise attend Luther College High School.

Luther College Community Bursary

The Luther College Community Bursary is awarded to deserving students who demonstrate academic achievement and a keen interest in learning, a positive attitude, proven leadership abilities and a strong desire to succeed. This scholarship will cover the cost of full tuition to Luther College High School and is continuing through Grade 12 providing they maintain good academic standing, and continue to meet eligibility requirements.

Luther College Grade 9 Entrance Scholarship

The Luther College Grade 9 Entrance Scholarship ($500) is available to new deserving grade 9 Saskatchewan students who demonstrate academic promise, character and involvement in their community, school or church.

Luther College Saskatchewan Dorm Student Scholarship

The Luther College Saskatchewan Dorm Student Scholarship is awarded to two new Grade 10 students from rural Saskatchewan who have a minimum average of 80% and are active in their school, community and church. The scholarship is renewable provided the recipients maintain specified standards. Funding is from annual donations made by alumni and other friends of the College.

Ted Cardwell Tuition Bursary

The Ted Cardwell Tuition Bursary is granted for a four year term to a deserving student from Imperial Community School in Regina, SK.

William Frederick Krell Scholarship

The William Frederick Krell Scholarship was established by Luther College High School alumnus William (Bill) Krell (HS’51) as an act of gratefulness to God for the health and abilities (financial, physical, mental, emotional, cognitive, and spiritual) with which he and his five sisters were gifted. This award also honours his parents, Frederick and Magdalena Krell, for their faith, encouragement, and love.

The receipient should have a keen sense of academic pursuit, demonstrate a need or hardship, financially or otherwise, such as physically, mentally, emotionally, cognitively or spiritually. Preference will be given to a student who exemplifies the characteristics of integrity, justice, humor, kindness and compassion.